Wednesday’s practice report, Alabama week

Western Kentucky started Wednesday’s afternoon practice just before the sky opened up on the practice field behind Houchens-Smith Stadium. It was nothing more than heavy rain and the Hilltoppers carried on about their business.

Starting junior running back Keshawn Simpson was not in attendance and sources say he has a torn MCL and will be out three weeks – although that was not confirmed by coach Willie Taggart. Comments below from Adam Smith, Chuck Franks. T.J. Smith and Demetrius Coley.

Adam Smith, senior OL
    Facing Alabama: “You have to go into this week just like any other week. The coaches give us a good plan and we have to go into it — you know those guys are a little better than everybody else you face every other week. At the same time, you can’t be scared and you got to go in there expecting to handle business.”

 Doing anything different? “There’s a different gameplan this week because it’s a different defense. Of course, there’s a few different plays we’re gonna run, but as far as approach, it’s just like every other week.”

   The opportunity: “It is exciting. It is a challenge and you’re going out and trying to prove something to the country. They’re the No. 1 team in the country and we take pride in trying to go show the country that we can run the ball against a team like that.”

    Challenge for the O-line: “Like I said before, we go into this week just like any other week and we’re gonna go try to show the world that we can run the ball against them.”

    APSU win: “We went into that game and did what we thought we could do. We showed everybody what we have and hopefully we’ll go down to Alabama and have another good performance this week.”

Chuck Franks, junior LB (Fayette, Ala., Fayette County High)
    What to expect Saturday: “I grew up watching Alabama football. I attended a couple games as a kid. I’ve been telling them expect the worst. It’s gonna be a huge crowd. We got to stick together and get the signal from the sideline and just lock in.”

    Family and friends: “Right now I got about 30 family and friends coming to the game. I’m real excited.”

    The opportunity: “It’s a dream come true to play against a powerhouse in my home state. I always dreamed about it. I worked hard as a kid, worked hard as a high school player and now as a college player. I figured one day it would come – it’s just a dream come true.”

    Were you an Alabama fan? “Being from Alabama you’re either and Alabama or Auburn fan. I was an Alabama fan growing up. Not anymore. I’m a Tops fan – 100 percent.”

T.J. Smith, sophomore DL/LB (Hazel Green, Ala., Hazel Green High)
    What to expect Saturday: “Yeah, man, I’ll tell you what, we’re gonna play hard – I’ll tell you what, we’re gonna freaking win this game. Truly, we got a great defense, great linebackers – so watch this game, we’re gonna win.”

 Alabama fan? “I was an Auburn fan. We really don’t like Alabama. Anything about Alabama. Dad, he didn’t like Alabama. Momma didn’t like Alabama, so I didn’t like Alabama.”

    Family and friends: “Yeah, probably like 20, 25. Makes me very happy, man. Back home, that’s a big ol’ deal. Coming up here, many people can’t watch me play. Coming back home, they’ve got an opportunity to come see me play.”

Demetrius Coley, junior FB (Bay Minette, Ala., Baldwin County High)
    What to expect: “We’re ready to come out and play, give it everything we got, keep everything under control, go as hard as we can.”

    Alabama or Auburn? “I was an Auburn fan. Yeah, I can’t wait to get out here and kick their butts.”

 Family and friends: “I got all my classmates that got to Alabama. My brother’s friends, they all go to Alabama, so it’s a pretty big crowd. Just gives all my friends and family the chance to see me play a team that I hated growing up.”

 Ever go to an Alabama game? “Yeah, I attended, like, six Iron Bowls – Auburn-Alabama. The crowd noise is just going to be unreal. I’ve never been on the field, but I’ve been in the stands. It’s something everybody should experience someday.”

About Chad Bishop

A 2006 graduate of Georgia Southern University, Chad is the Western Kentucky University beat writer for the Bowling Green Daily News
This entry was posted in Talkin' bout the Tops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday’s practice report, Alabama week

  1. Pingback: Western Kentucky says it’s going to “freaking” beat Alabama | John Clay's Sidelines

  2. Tolino Shine says:

    naturally like your website but you have to check the
    spelling oon several of your posts. Many of them are rife
    with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to inform the truth then
    again I will certainly come again again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

